Tag Archives: alanjeffreys

Alan Jeffreys Award Winner Announced

CIG and CIGS are pleased to announce that the Alan Jeffreys Award 2015 has been awarded to Fred Guy. Fred has been awarded the prize:

“For being a stalwart for the development and advocacy of librarians throughout his career and particularly for cataloguing and indexing professionals in Scotland since the mid-1980s. Fred has been an active committee member of CIGS since 1988 and has served as both Secretary and Vice Chair with distinction, enabling it to become one of the most active and prominent special interest groups in Scotland”.

The Alan Jeffreys Award is a fitting tribute to his long standing commitment and service to the profession and CIG would like to take this opportunity to wish Fred a long and happy retirement.


Call for Nominations – Alan Jeffreys Award

CIG invite nominations for the Alan Jeffreys Award.

Established in 1996, in memory of a former chairman of the group who died two years earlier, the Alan Jeffreys Award recognises those who have made significant contributions to the understanding and development of cataloguing, indexing and related fields of librarianship.
The recipient of the award should have made a substantive contribution to the development, teaching or practice of cataloguing or indexing. Nominations should provide evidence of exceptional achievement in one or more of the following categories:

– Teaching or Professional Development
– Leadership in a changing environment
– Delivery of a project

Evidence should include assessment of the impact the nominee has had. This may include, but is not limited to, improved access to collections; academic performance or efficiencies. Nominations should be sent to the Honorary Secretary, esther.arens@gmx.de, until 15 August 2015. They will be evaluated by the CIG committee; nominees are excluded from the evaluation process.

Alan Jeffreys Award winners 2013

We are pleased to announce that this year we have decided to make a joint award for the Alan Jeffreys Award 2013

The award is made by the Cataloguing & Indexing Group Committee in memory of Alan Jeffreys, the former Chairman of the Group, who died in 1994.   The recipient of the award should have made a substantive contribution to the development, teaching or practice of cataloguing or indexing.

The award for 2013 is given to Esther Arens, University of Leicester & Céline Carty, Cambridge University.

Esther’s award is in recognition for her work in conceiving, developing (and often delivering) the successful “FRBR for the terrified” workshops. The workshops were always booked out and highly appreciated by all who attended them.

Céline’s award is in recognition of for her work on supporting the adoption of RDA within the UK academic library community. She has been very visble in supporting cataloguers beyond her institution, especially in social media and through feeding back her experiences at ALA.

Congratulations to both winners.

We’ll be looking for new nominations next year again so keep your eyes open in the summer, but in the meantime, please be thinking of who you could nominate. It can be any member of CILIP/CIG, at any stage of their career and full details of the terms of reference can be found with the details of last year’s nomination process here.